I’ve just read the Independent newspapers article about the failure of Google Wave.

In keeping with the fashion of most of the commentary on the topic, it has asked the question ‘what’s the point of releasing an experiment into the wild when you’ve given it no chance to succeed?’

Dubbing Wave a solution to a problem that wasn’t there, the report seems totally confused as to why Google even tried.

What I don’t think the article realises though is quite how important an experiment Google Wave actually was.

I was really excited about the prospect of a new instant communication tool with a plethora of features to help make my working day more productive. I was expecting an improvement in collaboration, project management and tonnes of other inventive things from the geniuses at Google.

But, of course, none came! At the workplace we still use Microsoft Messenger to communicate with each other. Messenger is perfect because it is simple and does exactly what we need it to.

So the question I imagine Google needed answering was – with the launch of a new operating system just around the corner, how do we prove that we are better at Microsoft in the instant communication game?

After all, the last thing they want is a Microsoft product on their new operating system.

I am confident that when the Chrome operating system comes out (and it will do very soon) it will integrate the features that have survived the experiment. And when it does – I imagine it will be a Microsoft killer.

