I’m back.

After a long hiatus from this blog I’m breathing life back into it again.

So, I hear you all ask, where have I been?

I’ve been spending the last 7 months diving into the world of online communities. I’ve been trying to work out what makes people gel together on particular websites, exploring what makes some of the top communities so good and seeing what I can learn from community building guru’s.

The core lesson I’ve learnt is that the way to understand online communities involves taking bits of knowledge from a wide range of disciplines. For example:

  • Psychology offers deep insights into the motivation and drivers of community involvement.
  • Sociology provides a way to understand and measure the dynamics between groups.
  • Web development will help you choose the right kind of tools to manage and build a community.
  • Market research gives invaluable advice on how to motivate people and word questions.
  • Network science supplies some useful metrics to measure and visualize an online community.
  • Marketing provides invaluable copy writing tips to make your words attractive to members.

These are just a few of the areas that community builders and managers can learn from. Stay tuned as I explain some of the things I’ve learnt, share resources that I uncover and discuss (where possible) how some of the client communities I run are coming along.

